Letter to the Gardener

I walked twice past the planter boxes

Fresh and flourishing with their fully grown follies

Of robust mandevillea and thriving salvia

Until I plucked a cutting from the Unknown

Plant its green of pondlike depth drawing

My gaze to a tough opaqueness, leaves

A crimson red damask olive, pink small fish

Buds brimming to the surface.

thank you, anonymous Gardener, for your imagination

Transplanting a refugee from the bush perhaps

To this cityscape stretch.

May I ask  you, most sincerely, to name

My brave traveller, who, though wilted

I will will to grow, in soil now, at home

 

 

 

Copyrighted by the author

 

 

Leave a Reply

