The music of the day

Javanese shadow-puppet bird shapes

Peck and pluck in the late west sun

I do not hear their song, too intent

On digging, planting, mulching

 

How to live without music? Spade-gong?

The garden hears my labour

The birds pirouette away

As I change their landscape,

 

Slow steps. Terracotta-chimes. I am focused

On nourishment, forgetting

To listen to the sounds of

The garden growing, leaf

 

Mulch worm crunch scrunch.

My silhouette lengthens

At day’s end. I am content.

A choir returns with melodious gusto

 

 

 

Copyrighted by the author

 

 

Leave a Reply

