Perennially

Strong salvias droop

in the unexpected

early autumn.

I provide what I can

taking in

their latent vivacity

happily, far away

from desk life

with it’s constant

patter of people

in all their perennial

parade.

I sink lower

into my revolving chair

still listening,

still caring

as I hear bureaucracy’s

wounding howls

even at a distance.

The office becomes

a floating lily pad

for lost souls

hiding selves and platitudes

in the shortening days

waiting

for the clarity of rain

to pitter down

on us all.

I watch for signs

of returning life.

 

Copyrighted by the author

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

