Half bird, half dog

If you speak bird

bird returns

bird-talk too.

 

Though I

cannot understand

bird does, quizzically

and flies on

 

Dog howls, dog cries

as I try to talk dog

across the fence

 

though dog does not

know or care

behind a door

where all is bare

 

Half bird, half dog

I try to be

but my feathered

or tethered friends

have no words

for me.

 

I rest

atop a cypress

looking down.

 

The world

appears green and free

 

Copyrighted by the author

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

